Life in ObamaNation

July 4, 2009

Out of Work in the U.S.A.

Filed under: Unemployment — Barbara Mathieson @ 7:05 am
Tags: , , , ,

When I lost my job last November, I never dreamed that I would still be unemployed in July. I have a job generating small amounts of commission, but it is not enough to get off unemployment. My husband John who has been unemployed since last September has sunk into a funk about his status. He spends sleepless nights reading, surfing the net, weightlifting and walking.

Ten years short of retiring, I found myself in a dead industry, print production, after 35 years. I do not subscribe to newspapers and magazines any more. Print production directors are as marketable as American auto workers. I have not drive an American made car in years either.

During past years when Born in the U.S.A. was played during fireworks shows, John and I were often puzzled why this song was being played to celebrate our country. It is a song about despair, not celebrating the Red, White and Blue. This year, we are living the song.

Born down in a dead man’s town
The first kick I took was when I hit the ground
You end up like a dog that’s been beat too much
Till you spend half your life just covering up

Born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
Born in the U.S.A.

Got in a little hometown jam
So they put a rifle in my hand
Sent me off to a foreign land
To go and kill the yellow man

Born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
Born in the U.S.A.

Come back home to the refinery
Hiring man says “Son if it was up to me”
Went down to see my V.A. man
He said “Son, don’t you understand”

I had a brother at Khe Sahn fighting off the Viet Cong
They’re still there, he’s all gone

He had a woman he loved in Saigon
I got a picture of him in her arms now

Down in the shadow of the penitentiary
Out by the gas fires of the refinery
I’m ten years burning down the road
Nowhere to run ain’t got nowhere to go

Born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
Born in the U.S.A.
I’m a long gone Daddy in the U.S.A.
Born in the U.S.A.
Born in the U.S.A.
Born in the U.S.A.
I’m a cool rocking Daddy in the U.S.A.

Hiring unlikely to rebound even as economy does

Filed under: Uncategorized — Barbara Mathieson @ 6:25 am

Maybe Sarah Palin should have kept her day job. She may not find another.

By Don Lee • LOS ANGELES TIMES • July 4, 2009

    WASHINGTON — Even as the nation’s economy begins clawing its way out of the worst recession in 60 years, there are growing signs that this recovery could come with an unsettling twist. The wheels of commerce may begin to turn again without any substantial boost in jobs.

    Not only is the national unemployment rate, now 9.5 percent, likely to climb into double digits later this year, it is expected to remain there well into 2010, economists say. That would prolong the misery of the unemployed, squeeze retailers and other businesses, and add millions of dollars in government costs and lost productivity. It could even threaten the recovery itself.

    While it’s common for the jobless rate to keep climbing for a time after economic output turns positive, the aftermath of the last two downturns, in 1990-91 and 2001, introduced the idea of a “jobless recovery.” Even though the economy improved, many unemployed workers found that jobs as good as the ones they had lost were almost impossible to find.

    This time, many economists say, there are new factors that could make the problem worse. Many more layoffs in this recession have been permanent, not temporary.

    And mass layoffs are continuing at a record pace; in June they cost nearly 467,000 workers their jobs. Since the recession began in December 2007, the U.S. economy has shed nearly 6.5 million payroll jobs.

    NP NowPublic

    Tags: |

    Blog at WordPress.com.